HTML5 May Be The Future, But Not Yet

Logo of Adobe Systems Incorporated

Image via Wikipedia

HTML5 might be the future, but not until there is a standard codec for it.   Techcrunch states that HTML5 is the future of the internet (Schonfeld, 2010).  I disagree.  You see, Flash is just one plugin, from one company, Adobe. But with HTML5, there are many different codecs (e.g., Ogg Theora and H.264). For example, I prefer to use Firefox, but I can’t watch HTML5 Youtube videos because there are multiple codecs as compared with Flash there is just one plugin that works with any browser. But the problem is, everyone seems to think HTML5 is the future. IE 9′s big evolution from IE 8 is going to be really good HTML5 graphics. Google, Microsoft, and Apple all think that HTML5 is the future. My conclusion is that it might be the future, but not for a while.

Sources:

Schonfeld, E. (2010).   Microsoft agrees with Apple and Google: “The future of the web is HTML5”.  Retrieved on July 10th, 2010, from http://techcrunch.com/2010/04/30/microsoft-html5/

About Quinn C.

I live outside of Eldridge, IA. Yes, I know that it says that I live in Davenport, IA, but really I live closer to Eldridge. I just have a Davenport address. My hobbies include: magic, video games, movies, reading, and anything to do with technology. View all posts by Quinn C.

Leave a Reply

